traditional classic Danish Christmas lunch party restaurant kronborg copenhagen

Christmas Feast (a.k.a. ‘julefrokost’) 2021

The months of November and December are some of the most festive times of the year at Restaurant Kronborg.
We serve a home-made, traditional Danish Christmas Lunch (“julefrokost”) – “family style” at the table.

We serve Christmas Lunch on from Friday 5 November to Thursday 23 December and Monday 27 to Thursday 30 December 2021.
As alwsays we expand our opening hours to Monday to Saturday 11-24 and Sunday 11-18 in the above period.

We invite you to send us an email at reservation@restaurantkronborg.dk if you are interested in enjoying a classic Danish ‘julefrokost’ in the above period.

In 2021 we spoil our guests with:

Herring & Fish
Curried herring with eggs, onions and capers
Christmas herring with onions and capers
Kronborg’s pan-fried herrings in its own pickle
Pan-fried fillet of plaice with “remoulade”
Kronborg’s rimmed salmon with apple-celeriac-crème
Smoked salmon with scrambled eggs

Meat
Braised duck with pickled red cabbage
Pan-fried pork with apples
Liver paté with bacon, mushrooms and pickled cucumber
Pork roast with pickled red cabbage and cucumber
Christmas sausage with mustard and pickled beetroots

Two kinds of cheese
with preserved fruits

Traditional rice pudding
with almonds and cherry sauce

DKK 399 per person from Monday to Wednesday
DKK 419 per person Thursday & Sunday
DKK 469 per person Friday & Saturday
(must be pre-booked by a minimum of two persons)

Add-on: smoked eel with scrambled eggs DKK 85 per person
(must be pre-ordered for the entire party)

We offer a wide selection in well-brewed beers and aromatic aquavits to accompany the Christmas Lunch.

Please note that our servings are tailored to an average appetite. If you desire an extra helping of one or more dishes please let your waiter know and s/he will bring it from the kitchen. This way all your food is freshly prepared when served and we minimise food waste.

Throughout the years our Christmas Lunch menu has been enjoyed (and recommended) by Author & Reviewer Martin Kongstad in “Bearnaise is the King of the Animals” (originally on Radio 24/syv, now on Podimo) the savvy foodies from Copenhagen Food, Copenhagen Expert Laura from TheCopenhagenTales, the passionate foodie, Mette Juulsgaard, the selfproclaimed bon vivant, Martin Villumsen, and the Copenhagen conaisseur, Camilla Stemann Jensen.
We also invite you to read what Food Journalist Mikkel Bækgaard and Food Stylist/bon vivant Thomas Alcayaga wrote about our Christmas lunch (you will need Google translate, though, as all the posts are in Danish… ).

traditional classic danish christmas lunch salmon herrings restaurant kronborg copenhagen

Please note that on the below dates we exclusively serve “smørrebrød” (open sandwiches) from the menu from 11.00 to 14.00 and the Christmas Lunch menu (i.e., no “smørrebrød”) from 14.15 to 18.00 and 18.30 till the kitchen closes (Saturdays from 19.00 till the kitchen closes).
Saturday 13 November
Friday 19 November
Saturday 20 November
Friday 26 November
Saturday 27 November
Sunday 28 November (closed in the evening)
Tuesday 30 November
Wednesday 1 December
Thursday 2 December
Friday 3 December
Saturday 4 December
Sunday 5 December (closed in the evening)
Tuesday 7 December
Wednesday 8 December
Thursday 9 December
Friday 10 December
Saturday 11 December
Sunday 12 December (closed in the evening)
Monday 13 December
Tuesday 14 December
Wednesday 15 December
Thursday 16 December
Friday 17 December
Saturday 18 December
Sunday 19 December (closed in the evening)
Monday 20 December
Tuesday 21 December
Wednesday 22 December
Thursday 23 December (closed in the evening)

On the below dates we serve as follows
From 11.00 to 14.00 “smørrebrød” from the menu
From 14.15-18.00 we serve “smørrebrød” from the menu as well as the Christmas Lunch menu
From 18.30 till the kitchen closes (from 19.00 till the kitchen closes on Saturdays) we exclusively serve the Christmas Lunch menu

Friday 12 November
Thursday 18 November
Wednesday 24 November
Thursday 25 November
Monday 6 December
Thursday 30 December (closed in the evening)

On the below dates we serve as follows
From 11.00 to 14.00 “smørrebrød” from the menu
From 14.15-18.00 we serve “smørrebrød” from the menu as well as the Christmas Lunch menu
From 18.30 till the kitchen closes (from 19.00 till the kitchen closes on Saturdays) we exclusively serve the Christmas Lunch menu

Friday 5 November
Saturday 6 November
Sunday 7 November
Thursday 11 November
Sunday 14 November (closed in the evening)
Sunday 21 November (closed in the evening)
Monday 29 November
Monday 27 December (closed in the evening)
Tuesday 28 December
Wednesday 29 December
Thursday 30 December (closed in the evening

We invite you to send us a mail at reservation@restaurantkronborg.dk if you are interested in enjoying a classic Danish Christmas Lunch in the above period.

Please note that we are only able to make one collective bill per party in the Christmas season.
If a party is more than ten minutes late for their booking, and we have not been informed about the delay, we take the liberty of offering the table to another party.
Please note that we advise against bringing children (under the age of 14) for the Christmas Lunches as the meal is quite lenghty and the ambience can become quite loud and festive, which – in our experience – often make children feel uncomfortable causing negative reactions.

risalamande cheese traditional classic danish christmas lunch restaurant kronborg copenhagen

We reserve the right to changes in the above.